Carta de Nicaragua 17: LyndalooBook – the third quarter

Yoohoo! Here’s part three!

Six months passed by in a flash. To write a book of 60,000 words you need to write 1000 words a day over two months. That’s the book written then!

And yes, given that my technological skills are limited I have taken to drawing my own graphics. I’ve given myself extra-big hair, too.

April and May were the height of the summer months but also saw the end of the summer. Night time was like sleeping in a Bikram Yoga studio with the heat cranked up and no sign of air-con or a fan in sight.

April 2012
10th: Success! Or rather, I managed to teach 16 children who barely know their alphabet today. Alphabet ordering, reading syllables and then an syllable word search. Tomorrow it’s alphabet bingo – hope I’m not getting ahead of myself. I think the  “I’m-going-to-ignore-bickering-children”approach did the trick too. fnwl ♥

Missing! Meatballs like these – only diguised in a tomato sauce

14th: Meatballgate! There were 32 meatballs and five hungry mouths. Enough for SIX each with TWO extra. Everybody had 4 saving two for later. Mrs N and Big sis N couldn’t resist and had one of their two straight away. Little Miss N ate her extra two later in the evening. Mrs N ate her final extra at some point in the evening. That left the six for AC who was at University. He came home ate 6 and then one extra. That left two for me, one for Big Sis N and one extra. Big Sis N claimed hers this morning. Then there were only two!!!!! AC-YumYum, who claims to have an alibi, says: “perhaps the cat ate one.” Let’s run through this scenario: kitty enters kitchen through heavy wooden door which is closed from the inside with a big hook-lock *big question mark*. Kitty jumps up onto table and removes lid from the pot of leftover meatballs, helps herself to JUST ONE of the four (since Big Sis didn’t claim hers until this morning) and replaces the lid. *even bigger question mark*. hmmmmmmm *rubs chin and contemplates re-employing the services of  Team Marple-Poirot. fnwl♥

16th: In other news, mystery still surrounds the missing meatball. As far as the absent delicious food item goes I watched the cat closely for signs of guilt but came away with nothing. It was the same with the chickens and the dogs. Team Marple Poirot is “keeping and open mind”. The case may be confined to the open-unsolved Hetty Daffodil Mystery series. fnwl♥

May 2012
3rd: People, I’m in Costa Rica on a ‘return-to-the-UK-acclimatisation-programme’. No idea how this damned keyboard works so punctuation is entertaining. The programme goes as follows – part one – pack for all temperatures and mutter the words ‘just-in-case’ as you go along. Start the day in a summer dress but pack brolly, trousers and hoody and end up wearing everything at once when the weather changes at 3pm for a tropical downpour. Part two – look at prices, raise eyebrows and declare you’re being robbed blind. Taraaaah for now. From Costa Rica with a frown! 😦

17th: Long time no speak. Amongst my many activities I’m now swatting up on women’s basketball as it is now my Olympic sport of not much choice. The Lyndaloo Peek-a-boo-catch-me-if-you-can Tour starts in 70 days and counting. Please bring out the sunshine for me. I now shiver at 99 degrees or less. fnwl♥

Doodles on yellow paper captivated my young audience

22nd: Patting self on back furiously! Today’s class – the children had a sheet of paper each with four pictures on the page they had a series of syllables to form the word that was the picture. “Oooh, profe dibjuas muy bien,” lol – they think I’m good at drawing :D. Who’d have thought art would be on my list of hidden talents. Actually, I can’t remember how many times I got “¿Qué es esto profe? What’s this prof”. Now even children from neighbouring schools are calling out as I pass: “adios, profe”. Word gets around! fnwl♥

June 2012
5th: It’s been a while. 52 days until Peek-a-boo-2012. Still not researched basketball. Back from the Tululululu on the Caribbean Coast. Then risked life and limb in the Canyon in Somoto – scaling rocks and wading through rising rivers in inadequate clothing. Comfort zone moves again. fnwl♥

This is where gluegate began!

20th: I do apologise for patting myself on the back profusely and walking around Nicaragua like a wind machine (caused by furious back-patting) but more lovely news about the children. Today, they were engaged in a task of sticking syllables to cardboard and forming words – working in teams of two. Alejandro still can’t do teamwork and his partner José Miguel went to work with Jeiner instead. José Miguel and Jeiner just about stuck themselves to each other. Teresa and Cintia worked very well. In all the children were actually reading and learning but they didn’t know it. Teresa gave me a lollipop today! I think we’ll play bingo tomorrow – prizes: lollipops and fruity sweets. fnwl♥

27th: So, having sent the children into overdrive with cutting, sticking and colouring-in, I then sent them into orbit with bingo. Sadly, today’s promise of superbingo – which just the thought of tipped them further into a dizzy spin of excitement – had to be postponed until Monday. Don’t worry, I packed them off with a lollipop and they cheered when I said I’d be in school tomorrow. Whoohooo Profesora Lyndaloo rides again.
In other news, Peek-a-boo starts in 29 days. UK, ARE YOU READY? LONDON, are you ready?? Hurricane Lyndaloo’s a comin’. fnwl♥

To be continued…

About lyndacuba

"Who am I? Why am I here? You're asking, I'm asking. Tired of all the moaning around me, tired of waiting for something to happen, I decided that I couldn't just let life pass me by. It occurred to me that if I could help a single person, that act could change the outcome of an entire community for the better. I want to matter. I want to make a difference. I've chosen Nicaragua." That was 2011 - this is 2017.
This entry was posted in education, Nicaragua, Spanish, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

