Postales de Nicaragua 6: Oranges are not the only green fruit

When teaching children their colours in Nicaragua there’s absolutely no point using fruit such as oranges and lemons unless, of course, you’re talking about the colour green. There are orange oranges here  and yellow lemons and yellow coconuts, but generally they’re green as are the, grapefruit, mamones, jacotes… The list goes on…

And why wait until a fruit is ripe before eating it? There’s nothing tastier than fried green plaintain:- tostones, tajadas; or how about boiled green banana or guineo or slices of green mango in a chilli vinegar sauce?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About lyndacuba

"Who am I? Why am I here? You're asking, I'm asking. Tired of all the moaning around me, tired of waiting for something to happen, I decided that I couldn't just let life pass me by. It occurred to me that if I could help a single person, that act could change the outcome of an entire community for the better. I want to matter. I want to make a difference. I've chosen Nicaragua." That was 2011 - this is 2017.
This entry was posted in Food and cooking, fruit, Nicaragua and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

